Mounts may be included in a cohort with or without their rider. If taken in a cohort with their rider, they can work together in a few unique ways.


During a clear turn, a rider may become mounted if it is in base contact with its mount. When the rider becomes mounted, remove their model from the arena - the pair now share the space of the larger model’s base, and the rider is treated as having the same base size as the mount. Mounts making a wild attack will not attack their own rider while that model is mounted.

During a clear turn, a rider may also dismount, in which case their model is returned to the arena anywhere within 1 inch of the mount. Mounting and Dismounting may only occur when both models are ready. The pair may begin the game either mounted or dismounted.

Caveat : If a player has only a mounted pair remaining in play, the Last Man Standing rules do not apply to the pair.

Activating : When mounted, treat both models as sharing a single activation. The Favor spend limit applies to each model individually.

Movement : When mounted, use the mount’s MOV to resolve all Move Actions and reactions.

Attacking : The first time a mounted pair attacks during its activation, an attack is made by both the mount and the rider. The active player declares which model attacks first. The mount and rider may each choose targets independently. The defender may choose which of the attacks they react to, if reacting. Additional attacks may be declared by the rider or the mount.

While mounted, neither mounts nor riders may declare power attacks.

Fatigue : When mounted, the pair shares a single fatigue level. Either may make a reaction, in which case the pair gains a fatigue. When the pair is separated,each model retains the shared fatigue level.

Attacking a mounted model : When attacking a mounted pair, either the mount or rider may be declared the target of the attack.

Pushed Rider : If an attack targeting the rider successfully pushes the rider, the rider is forcibly dismounted. If this happens, place the rider in base contact with the mount, directly opposite the attacker, then resolve the push.

The mount keeps the fatigue level previously shared by the mounted pair, and the rider is exhausted.

If the rider cannot be placed directly opposite the attacker due to a hazard or model, apply the effects of a push contacting the obstructing model or hazard, then treat the rider as having been displaced by their mount.


If a mount is defeated while mounted, place the rider anywhere completely within the base area of the mount, and then exhaust the rider. If the rider is defeated while mounted, a mount will continue to fight on its own. If the mount is a Beast, it will immediately make a wild attack if the rider is defeated while mounted. Note that wounding and lethal hazards apply to both the mount and the rider, since they share the same base.


When adding beasts to your cohort: The restriction for Ludus Benefits requires 75% of your cohort’s gladiators to be from one faction. Mounts, Beasts, and Titans are not gladiators, and do not affect this percentage for the purpose of determining Ludus Benefit eligibility. Mounts do not gain their rider’s affiliation

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License